You are here
Home > Community > Battiest Brothers win best video at American Indian Film Awards

Battiest Brothers win best video at American Indian Film Awards

SAN FRANCISCO, Calif. The Storm, the song and video production starring Seminole Tribal citizens Spencer and Doc Battiest, and directed by Stephen Paul Judd, was awarded Best Music Video of 2011 at the 36th annual American Indian Film Festival. The Battiest Brothers performed live before a capacity crowd at the American Indian Motion Picture Awards on Saturday, Nov. 12 at the Palace of Fine Arts in San Francisco.

“It was a real honor to be honored by the American Indian Film Institute,” said Zachary “Doc” Battiest. “We’ve been to award shows before and came close, but we never were able to bring one home. And the award we won was one of the most important!”


Performing live before Natives from around the globe added to the joyous occasion. “We got one of the only standing ovations of the night, and I can’t describe how great it was to hear all the different nations doing their calls,” added Doc. “You could hear the Osage, the Sac and Fox, the Inuit from up near the Arctic Circle, the Pomo Nation, each one doing their Tribal calls. And the woman lu-lu-ing, you could hear them all! It was incredible: one giant applause with the whole place standing!”


Sponsored by the American Indian Film Institute, The American Indian Motion Picture Awards Show recognizes excellence in American Indian and Canadian First Nations cinematic achievement and is considered one of the most prominent Indian Country and Native Cinema showcases.


In addition to the Battiest Brothers’ Hip Hop/R&B performance, others who performed live included Blues singer/songwriter Derek Miller, Punk/Indie band Miracle Dolls, comedian JR Redwater, and violinist Swil Kanim.


The Awards: BEST FILM: Shouting Secrets, Korinna Sehringer, director; BEST DIRECTOR: Andrew Okpeaha MacLean, On The Ice; BEST ACTOR: Chaske Spencer, Shouting Secrets; BEST ACTRESS: Michelle St. John, Every Emotion Costs; BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR: Tyler Christopher, Shouting Secrets; BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS: Roseanne Supernault, Every Emotion Costs; BEST DOCUMENTARY FEATURE: The Thick Dark Fog, Randy Vasquez, director; BEST DOCUMENTARY SHORT: Columbus Day Legacy, Bennie Klain, director; BEST LIVE SHORT SUBJECT: Search For The World’s Best Indian Taco, Steven Paul Judd, Director; BEST ANIMATION: Amaqqut Nunaat (The Country of Wolves), Neil Christopher, director; BEST MUSIC VIDEO: The Storm, Spencer & Doc Battiest, Steven Paul Judd, director; BEST INDUSTRIAL: American Indian Actors, Sterlin Harjo, director; EAGLE SPIRIT AWARD HONOREES: Everett Freeman (Posthumous Presentation), and (the late) Jessie Little Doe Baird.


Leave a Reply