You are here
Home > Sports > Triple Crown series wraps up in BC

Triple Crown series wraps up in BC

BIG CYPRESS — Another Triple Crown Fishing Series wrapped up May 11 on the canals of the Big Cypress Reservation.

Ruben Anzualda and Frank Marrero were rewarded for their consistency with the grand championship trophy.

They had two third-place finishes and one second during the series and finished with a weight of 45.32 pounds, three in front of runner-up Andrea Tommie and Tony Tommie. Allen Venzor and Ralph Sanchez edged Ozzy Garza and Martha Suta by a fraction of a pound to claim third place.

Garza and Suta won the tournament’s final outing with 16.92 pounds. Wyatt Osceola and Tyrell Osceola won the Sam Nelson Big Bass Award at 4.94 pounds.

Earlier in the season, Marie Phillips and Fred Phillips won the Sonny Decarlo/Clyde Tiger Memorial Big Bass Award at 4.9 pounds.

Sarah Osceola and Dalton Koenes won the Josiah Johns Memorial Big Bass Award to start the season.

Sixteen teams of two competed in the series. Results were tallied at the end of each event by Hollywood Recreation site manager Joe Collins at Moses Jumper Jr.’s dock.

Triple Crown Series participants, including winners, gather on the canal shore near Moses Jumper Jr.’s dock in Big Cypress at the conclusion of the final fishing event of the series on May 11. (Photo Kevin Johnson)
Kevin Johnson
Kevin Johnson is senior editor. He has worked for The Seminole Tribune since 2014. He was previously an editor, photographer and reporter for newspapers in Southwest Florida and Connecticut. Contact Kevin at

Leave a Reply