You are here
Home > Education > Charter School inducts Safety Patrol

Charter School inducts Safety Patrol

BRIGHTON — Eighteen students were inducted into Pemayetv Emahakv’s Safety Patrol on Nov. 11 in a ceremony held at the Brighton Veteran’s Building.

In a joint ceremony that also celebrated Veterans Day, parents, teachers and fellow students watched the new members take their oaths.

The following students were sworn into office by Capt. John Auer of the Seminole Police Department: Capts. Aiyana Tommie and Camryn Thomas; Lts. Jalynn Jones and Brady Rhodes; Sgts. Alicia Fudge, Aidan Tommie, Andrew Fish, Aleina Micco, Krysta Burton and Gage Riddle; and Officers Jathan Tommie, Shyla Gopher, Sage Motlow, Kamani Smith, Eecho Billie, Dante Thomas, Jenna Brown and Ozzy Osceola.

Officer Darryl Allen, the school resource officer who leads Safety Patrol, explained how students are selected as members of the Safety Patrol. Teachers request students and students must obtain a C average at all times, he said. Once the teachers submit their requests, Allen and guidance counselor Jeanine Gran make the final decision.

Brighton Council Rep. Andrew J. Bowers Jr. said to the patrol members, “Somebody saw that quality in you to step up.”

One by one, students received their sash and pin. Then, together, they took their pledge as Pemayetv Emahakv’s Safety Patrol.

Officer Allen told the students, “It is an absolute honor we are here. We continue to grow; we started with eight members, then went up to 16 and now we are at 18.”

Chairman James E. Billie also shared in the occasion and had a little secret to tell newly inducted officer and son Eecho Billie. He was part of the Safety Patrol 55 years ago.

Chairman Billie went on to stress to inductees the importance of their roles.
“You may take that yellow stripe on you lightly, but don’t,” he said. “One of these days, you may step up and we will all be proud of you.”

Leave a Reply