You are here
Home > Education > PECS inducts top students into National Honor Societies

PECS inducts top students into National Honor Societies

NHSinduction04By Andrea Holata

BRIGHTON — Pemayetv Emahakv Charter School inducted 51 top students into the National Elementary Honor Society and Junior National Honor Society during a banquet held at the Brighton Veteran’s Building May 28.

To be eligible, students must maintain a 3.0 grade point average and must demonstrate four traits: leadership, service, character and citizenship.

PECS principal Brian Greseth welcomed everyone and congratulated students on their work. He then introduced the keynote speaker of the night, J. Webb Horton, assistant director of Community Outreach at Florida Gulf Coast University.

Horton spoke on the importance of respecting parents and making good grades.

“Be proud of what you do; be proud of your grades; don’t let anyone ever take that away from you,” he said. “If people ever pick on you and ask, ‘Why are you doing so well in school?’  Your answer is this: ‘The reason I am studying so hard is because when you don’t study as well as I do and you need a job you can come work for my company.’”

Student Trevor Thomas, emcee of the night, introduced four eighth grade Honor Society members: Crysten Smith, Raylon Eagle, Odessa King and Jaden Puente. Each student recited one of the Honor Society pillars and lit a candle for the traditional lighting of the candles ceremony.

Twenty-one elementary students were also inducted, receiving plaques and pins. They are Ramone Baker, John Beck, Aubee Billie, Daven Buck, Destiny Elliott, Jagger Gaucin, Donovan Harris, Caylie Huff, Haylie Huff, Heith Lawrence, Hyatt Pearce, Julia Smith, Malcolm Jones, Kaleb Doctor, Kamani Smith, Jenna Brown, Aubrey Pearce, Shyla Gopher, Katie Beck, Silas Madrigal and Edward Gaucin.

Thirty students in sixth through eighth grade were also inducted: Pernell Bert, Alexus James, Gage Riddle, Caroline Sweat, Chynna Villarreal, Krysta Burton, Kyle Palmisano, Mason Sweat, Danyelle Boromei, Alicia Fudge, Raeley Matthews, Aleina Micco, Kano Puente, Conner Thomas, Aidan Tommie, Jalynn Jones, Rudy Juarez, Chandler Pearce, Camryn Thomas, Layne Thomas, Aiyana Tommie, Raylon Eagle, Odessa King, Dylan Sheffield, Sean Osceola, Jaden Puente, Diamond Shore, Crysten Smith, Bailey Tedders and Trevor Thomas.