You are here
Home > Community > Triple Crown Fishing Series crowns champions

Triple Crown Fishing Series crowns champions

At left, Triple Crown Fishing Series grand champion Rafael Sanchez and his teammate Allen Venzor hold up the prizes they won at the series’ final event May 21 in Big Cypress. They finished second as a team in the final event. (Courtesy Seminole Recreation)

The third and final event in this year’s Seminole Sportsmen’s Triple Crown Fishing Series was held May
21 in Big Cypress.

The duo of Mike Tiger and Kenny Descheene won the event. Rafael Sanchez and Allen Venzor finished second. Trewston Pierce and Marshall Tommie came in third.

Tiger captured the Sam Nelson Bigg Bass award by reeling in a bass that weighed more than five pounds. It wasn’t big enough to overtake Brian Billie, who won the George Grasshopper Memorial Bigg Bass for the biggest bass of the series, which was six pounds, two ounces.

Sanchez won the overall grand champion title with a total of catch of more than 45 pounds accumulated over the three tournaments.

Mike Tiger shows the 5 pound, 13 ounce bass he caught that earned him the Sam Nelson Bigg Bass award. (Courtesy Seminole Recreation)
Amos Tiger, left, and Marvin Hines team up in the final Triple Crown Fishing Series on a canal in Big Cypress on May 21. (Photo Beverly Bidney)
Pierce, left, and Marshall Tommie show their trophies for third place. (Courtesy Seminole Recreation)