You are here
Home > Community > Three newcomers, three incumbents win seats in tribal election

Three newcomers, three incumbents win seats in tribal election

HOLLYWOOD – The Seminole Tribe’s Tribal Council and Board of Directors will have some new representation for the 2021-2023 term.

Three newcomers – all women – won seats in the Regular Election on May 10.  Mariann Billie, Nadine Bowers and Christine McCall will be inaugurated with victorious incumbents in June.  

Billie won the Council race in Big Cypress. Incumbent David Cypress finished second in the five-person field.

Brighton Councilman Larry L. Howard and Hollywood Councilman Christopher S. Osceola both retained their seats in the Council’s other two races.

In Board races for Seminole Tribe of Florida Inc., Bowers won the Big Cypress seat. Incumbent Joe Frank finished second. McCall won the Hollywood race which featured nine candidates. Incumbent Gordon “Ollie” Wareham did not run.  Brighton Board Rep. Helene Buster was the Board’s lone incumbent that won.

The Council and Board representatives, who serve two-year terms, will join Council Chairman/Board Vice-President Marcellus W. Osceola Jr. and Board President/Council Vice-Chairman Mitchell Cypress, who are currently serving four-year terms.